Aspire today competition

This competition is about building on the aspirations of today’s students for tomorrow; elevating and focusing their aspirations towards achieving a seat of Influence tomorrow. It is a student leadership and vocation development opportunity.

The Prize:

  1. Recognition at an Award Ceremony attended by all ‘Persons of Influence’ including the Lord Mayor, media and other significant community leaders
  2. A day being mentored by the person of influence in the category submitted
  3. Finalists and winners all receive an award certificate and letter of commendation

ASPIRE Panelists 2015

Panelist Information


ASPIRE Participating Schools 2015

  •   Callaghan College (Waratah / Jesmond / Wallsend)
  •   Cardiff High
  •   Charlton Christian College
  •   Glendale High
  •   Hunter School of Performing Arts
  •   Hunter Sports High
  •   Kurri Kurri High
  •   Macquarie College
  •   Lake Macquarie High
  •   Lambton High
  •   Macquarie College
  •   Merewether High
  •   Newcastle Grammer
  •   Newcastle High
  •   St Paul High School
  •   St Philips College
  •   St Pius X High School
  •   Swansea High
  •   Toronto High
  •   Warners Bay High
  •   Whitebridge High

ASPIRE Launch 2015

ASPIRE Finalists 2015

Journalism Category Jason Gordon Mentor – Newcastle Herald: Olivia Stanley, Markos Audroulis, Phoebe Turnbull
Business Category Mark Kentwell Mentor – PRDnationwide: Ruby Gash, Georgia Howard, Izac Findlay
Government Category Lord Mayor Nuatali Nelmes Mentor: Abbey Morris, Sammy Sethumadhavan, Natasha Mallam
Charity Category Rick Prosser – Life Church/Soul Cafe: Tegan Butts, Donesanty Phanalasy, Vaai Danneera
Radio/media Category Tanya Wilks – KOFM Radio: Chloe Levoi, Annabelle Field-Muir, Nicholas Kumar

ASPIRE Winners 2015

Congratulations to all the ASPIRE winners and finalists. Thank you to ORICA for sponsoring this youth leadership development initiative and to all who participated.

Rick Prosser
RUSH Mentoring Service Director

ASPIRE Today 2014

The winning candidates including Irini Kassas from Newcastle High (Government), Sarah Mitchell (Business)and Abigail Slater (Police)both from St Phillips Christian College Waratah.

“With strong communities we bridge barriers of every kind and make our community a place we are proud to live in and call home. As a born and raised Novocastrian, I am proud to call this city my community, a community that is my family.” Abigail Slater, 2014 ASPIRE Winner

Police Category Winner – Abigail Slater
Business Category Winner – Sarah Mitchell
Government Category Winner – Irini Kassas